House Science, Space, and Technology Committee

The House Science Committee’s jurisdiction includes NASA, the National Science Foundation, National Institute of Standards and Technology, and White House Office of Science and Technology Policy. It also has authority over R&D activities conducted at agencies such as the Department of Energy, Environmental Protection Agency, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, and Department of Homeland Security.

The committee has five subcommittees:

  • The Research and Technology Subcommittee has jurisdiction over the National Science Foundation and National Institute of Standards and Technology, as well as over a variety of issues that include scientific integrity, research security, STEM workforce development and welfare, and national innovation policy.
  • The Energy Subcommittee has jurisdiction over science and applied R&D programs at the Department of Energy, except for those carried out by the National Nuclear Security Administration, which fall to the Armed Services Committee.
  • The Environment Subcommittee has jurisdiction over scientific activities at the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration and Environmental Protection Agency, as well as over climate change research.
  • The Space and Aeronautics Subcommittee has jurisdiction over all parts of NASA as well as general matters of national space policy.
  • The Investigations and Oversight Subcommittee has investigative authority in all areas of the committee’s jurisdiction.

Leadership and Staff

Chair, Research and Technology Subcommittee
Ranking Member, Research and Technology Subcommittee