Jack G. Hehn headshot

Jack G. Hehn

Current Positions
Director, AIP Board of Directors  

Jack G. Hehn has a wide range of experience in physics and science education, having taught and worked with students in elementary school through graduate school and serving in leadership roles in several learned and professional societies and institutions of higher education.

Now retired, Hehn volunteers as an AAPT senior fellow, providing consulting services in learned society organization and administration and working with physics departments in efforts to improve instruction. He has served on the board of the American Center for Physics, the board of the Triangle Coalition and numerous advisory and financial committees of associations and federal agencies.

He received his doctorate degree in 1990 from the University of North Texas. He has served in administrative staff and instructional faculty roles within physics departments for 19 years, and he has served 22 years in the Washington, DC area as an officer, director and editor in science and education associations and the National Science Foundation.

He has been active in directing and advising large-scale educational programs including science policy review and commentary, curriculum development and technology and multi-media program development. Hehn has served as a reviewer, advisor and consultant to many physics departments and large-scale projects, and he has developed and implemented leadership workshops for Association CEOs, STEM faculty members and teachers and principal investigators in STEM education and research projects. Hehn serves in advisory capacity for many two-year college efforts. He is recognized as a national advocate for science, science policy and science education.

Hehn is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the American Physical Society (APS), the American Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT) and The Texas Society of Natural Philosophy. He is a member of Sigma Pi Sigma and a recipient of the AAPT Melba Phillips Medal.