Eric M. Furst

Current Positions
Treasurer, AIP Board of Directors  
SoR Designee to the AIP Board, The Society of Rheology  

Eric M. Furst is the William H. Severns Jr. Distinguished Chair of Chemical Engineering in the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at the University of Delaware. His research interests span a range of topics in soft matter science and engineering, focusing on experiments in colloid science, interfacial phenomena, and rheology. He co-authored the book Microrheology for Oxford University Press in 2017.

Furst received his BS with University Honors in Chemical Engineering from Carnegie Mellon University and his PhD from Stanford University. Prior to joining the Delaware faculty in 2001, he studied biophysics at Institut Curie, Paris. Furst is the recipient of the 2013 Soft Matter Lectureship Award, the NASA Exceptional Scientific Achievement Medal, the University Excellence in Undergraduate Advising and Mentoring Award, and he is a Fellow of the American Chemical Society and the American Association for the Advancement of Science.